Your Power of Choice

These words of wisdom are from my friend Ashlyn.  She wrote them to me as part of a conversation the two of us were engaged in via e-mail:

Although I’m not a Buddhist, and don’t necessarily believe that the physical world is an illusion, I do believe that I have the power to choose not to make external, physical problems, internal problems. So, for example, I have a midterm this morning that I’m not fully prepared for and am trying not to be worried about. Although the midterm itself is just a very physical stack of papers with words printed on them, I can choose to make it abstract, to allow it to be a monument of stress inside my heart. I can turn it into something that determines my self-worth, my identity. I can choose to make the test what it is, a test, papers, words, information, or I can allow it dictate my sleep patterns and my anxiety. I can choose to let this test (that is very separate from me, my body, my mind, my heart) get inside my head, or I can let it be separate. I can CHOOSE not to have an emotional response to it…imagine that! haha

Chicago Botanic Garden

YOU put the emotion into the physical universe and physical objects around you. You imbue them with emotion to experience the sensation back for yourself. You decide if it is good or bad, positive or negative.

YOU have the power.


2 Comments on “Your Power of Choice”

  1. mikeb says:

    FYI Ashlyn got a 92% on the test :)

  2. mikeb says:

    “I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized. If we treat people as they are, we make them worse. If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.” -Goethe


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers